Facebook pulls its Poke and Camera apps from the App Store

Remember the Facebook Poke app introduced in December 2012? Me neither. In fact, almost no one remembers it, let alone use it. But for some reason the iPhone app has stayed on the App Store until now. The original idea behind Poke was that it would take on Snapchat by letting Facebook users send messages to each other with a self-destruct timer. Snapchat has only gotten more popular over the last couple of years, and Poke barely made a blip on the radar.

Mark Zuckerberg even called Poke a “joke” at one point, so it should come as no surprise that the app is no more. The most surprising thing is that it stayed around this long.

Camera has also been in the App Store for along time, even longer ago than Poke. It allowed Facebookers to upload multiple images and edit them in what was a pretty nice interface. The app’s release came shortly after Facebook bought Instagram. Camera wasn’t a bad app, but the best aspects of it were slowly incorporated into the main Facebook app over time. Now, it serves no purpose as a standalone download.

facebook-camera4-640x405

Facebook hasn’t provided any reason for pulling either app, but it’s safe to assume that neither was being used that much anymore. The company now seems more focused on its messaging platform, with the recent acquisition of WhatsApp for $19 billion and the announcement that soon messaging would be removed from the main Facebook client in favour of the free Messenger app.

Facebook now has four apps available for iOS: the main app, Messenger, Pages Manager and Paper. Well, and Instagram also, if you want to count that one.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s